National Theatre

The National Theatre is dedicated to the constant revitalisation of the great traditions of the British stage and to expanding the horizons of audiences and artists alike.  Founded in 1963, and established on the South Bank in London in 1976, it presents an eclectic mix of new plays and classics from the world repertoire with seven or eight productions in repertory at any one time. The National Theatre aspires to reflect in its repertoire the diversity of the nation’s culture.

With a commitment to openness, wide-reaching engagement and access for everyone, the National shares its resources, energy and creativity with audiences and theatre-makers around the globe; using its Studio for research and development of new work, offering extensive learning and public engagement programmes, touring and broadcasting in the UK and internationally, and creating innovative digital content.

The National stages over 20 new productions each year in one of its three South Bank theatres and transfers popular shows to the West End as well as touring productions around the UK and internationally. In 2012-13, 3.6 million people saw NT productions in theatres and through National Theatre Live, the digital broadcast of live performances to cinema screens all over the world.

For more information, please visit

National Theatre Member choice 2